Introduction to COM – Step 0 of 12

I was looking at classic COM (Component Object Model) technology recently and could not find a simple step-by-step reference. So, over the next 12 blog entries I will walk you through the creation of a simple COM component using Visual Studio 2005. We will create a COM component named MyFuncs which holds a Sum(x,y) method that simply adds two integers, and which is housed inside a DLL named MyMathLib.dll file. See the diagram below. COM is an insanely complex topic and the point of my blogs is simply to get you over the initial COM hurdle so you can understand the many references available to you. (Wikipedia has a good entry on COM.) After I finish posting the 12 blogs on how to create COM, I will post 5 blog entries showing you different ways to use the COM component we create here.
This entry was posted in Software Test Automation. Bookmark the permalink.