Installing Visual Studio 2005 and SQL Server 2005 on Windows Vista

I installed Visual Studio 2005 (Team System) and SQL Server 2005 (Standard Edition) on a machine running Windows Vista (Business Edition) today. The process was a little bit cruder than what I’ve become accustomed to with installing software on Windows XP and Windows Server 2003. But in hindsight, that makes sense — Vista is an OS and so no existing programs were originally designed for Vista. Anyway, here are some of the glitches I ran into and how I got around them. First, installing Visual Studio 2005 was not too difficult. The main issue was being aware that after installing Visual Studio 2005, you need to immediately install Visual Studio 2005 Service Pack 1, and then install Visual Studio Service Pack 1 Upgrade for Vista. The only minor irritation here is that VS2005 SP1 is 400+ MB in size (VS2005 SP1 Upgrade for Vista is 30MB). I easily found both these downloads from Microsoft by doing a Web search for "Visual Studio SP1".
After a reboot and verifying that Visual Studio was successfully installed, I had a lot more trouble installing SQL Server 2005 on Vista. My real problem was that I did not first prepare my machine (before attempting the SQL Server install) by configuring IIS 6. So, halfway through the SQL install, I got an error message, "Microsoft Internet Information Services (IIS) is either not installed or is disabled. IIS is required by some SQL Server features. Without IIS, some SQL Server features will not be available for installation. To install all SQL Server features, install IIS from Add or Remove Programs in Control Panel or enable the IIS service through the Control Panel if it is already installed, and then run SQL Server Setup again."
"That’s odd", I thought — I knew my machine had IIS installed and configured because I had earlier created a dummy test page hello.html, saved it at C:\Inetpub\wwwroot, and was able to access it in IE by navigating to http://localhost/hello.html. So I cancelled the SQL install. Eventually I realized that even though IIS was installed, it was not configured properly. OK, so let’s go to Control Panel | Add or Remove Programs | "Add/Remove Windows Components" to configure IIS. Oops, it’s not there — where did it go on Vista? Dang. It is now at Control Panel | Programs and Features | "Turn Windows features on or off" link. OK, found it. Now which IIS settings do I need to configure? Well, amazingly, I never did find a Microsoft site that listed exactly which IIS features I needed.  Double dang. So, I enabled all IIS settings.
OK, now that IIS has been 100% configured I should be able to restart and complete the SQL install, right? Oops. Again, halfway through the install I got the exact same IIS error. What the hey? OK, cancel the SQL Server install again. Well, to make a long story short, when I cancelled the initial SQL Server installation, I got into a kind of zombie state. The fix was to go to Control Panel | Programs and Features and then uninstall "Microsoft SQL Server Native Client" and "Microsoft SQL Server Setup Support Files". Now, I restarted the install and everything worked fine. Sort of.
After finishing the install, I downloaded SQL Server 2005 Service Pack 2 (at about 300MB), and ran it. Near the end of the SP2 install process I got a message saying that by default, no regular Windows Vista Administrator group user accounts are granted permission to connect to SQL Server, and do I want to run the SQL Server Provisioning Tool for Vista. Well sure, I guess I’d like to be able to actually connect to SQL (begin/end sarcasm). A nice GUI popped up with my user account, I added the account to the SQL SysAdmin role and clicked OK and . . . it errored out. I don’t remember what the error message was unfortunately but it was something about ADO.NET. OK, finish SQL install and reboot. Launch SQL Server Management Studio and try to connect to my new SQL instance. Fail. Dang. OK, let’s try the Provisioning Tool again. Where the @#$! is it? Cleverly tucked away at C:\Program Files \Microsoft SQL Server\90\Shared and named SqlProv.exe. Well, I re-ran the tool, and this time I successfully added myself to the SQL SysAdmin role, and was able to connect to SQL using Management Studio.
Moral of the story: Vista is a new operating system and you’re going to have installation issues like these until programs written for, and developed on, Vista become available.
This entry was posted in Software Test Automation. Bookmark the permalink.