Silverlight Application UI Test Automation

I have been looking at Silverlight lately and have been investigating how to create UI test automation for Silverlight applications. As far as I can tell so far, it looks like there are two main approaches. First, you can use the Microsoft UI Automation (MUIA) library to create C#, shell-based test automation. A second approach is to use JavaScript-to-Silverlight interoperability and create browser-based test automation. I haven’t tried ether approach but I’m fairly confident I could work out the details. A third possibility is to somehow use Silverlight technology to create UI test automation for a Silverlight application. I’m not sure how this would work, or if the technique is even possible, but the idea sounds interesting.
This entry was posted in Software Test Automation. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Silverlight Application UI Test Automation

  1. Unknown says:

    ArtOfTest actually just released a record/playback tool that natively supports Silverlight automation. Check it out here:

Comments are closed.