Installing Visual Studio 2010 – Error writing the project file. Class not registered

This weekend I installed the new Visual Studio 2010 on several different machines. I use multiple OS platforms for the articles I write for MSDN Magazine so it’s useful to have Visual Studio installed on machines with different configurations. I had no problems installing on Windows 7 and Windows Vista, but hit a snag on Windows Server 2003 (SP2). After installing Visual Studio 2010, VS launched fine but when I attempted to create a project, I got the not-so-helpful error message “Error writing the project file. Class not registered”. OK. I noticed that when I launched VS for the first time I did not get the option to select a settings configuration, such as General Development Settings or Web Development, like I did with the installs on other machines. In the VS 2010 UI, when I went to Tools | Import and Export Settings, the UI dialog had an empty list box where I expected to see a list of files with a .vssettings extension. After searching the Internet for this error message I came across several possible causes. Well to cut to the chase, it turns out that the machine I had installed onto did not have the required MSXML6 parser. A VS settings file is XML-based and evidently needs MSXML6 rather than earlier versions of the parser. A quick install of that component from solved the problem.
This entry was posted in Software Test Automation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Installing Visual Studio 2010 – Error writing the project file. Class not registered

  1. Unknown says:

    Thanks for the tip, I had the same problem and this helped me. Although confusingly I did already have MSXML6 installed, but there was something wrong because I uninstalled/reinstalled and now it works. I\’m running WinXP+SP3 and it took me a while to understand what I needed or could install. I had many MSXML versions and updates showing in Add/Remove Programs and after removing 6, the file was still in the windows/sytem32 directory. I decided to consolidate to MSXML 4.0+SP3 and MSXML 6.0(KB933579). Apparently WinXP+SP3 protects msxml6.dll so you can\’t upgrade further to MSXML 6+SP2. I\’m still not sure a) what about future security issues requiring an upgrade and b) do applications that previously worked with say v4 still work with v6? Thanks, Mike.

Comments are closed.