Web Application HTTP Request-Response Testing with Python

Although I don’t have hard data to back me up, it seems like the use of the Python scripting language for both software testing and development is increasing. I know that Python is the primary scripting language used at Google and I know that there are many fans of IronPython (the Windows-based implementation of Python) at Microsoft. A few months ago I wrote up an article for MSDN Magazine that shows how to use Python to perform automated HTTP request-response testing. Although there are many technical pros and cons to using Python compared to other languages which can easily perform request-response testing (Java, C#, JavaScript, Perl, Ruby, Powershell, and VBScript), for me it boils down to a non-technical issue: Python just feels right. You can read my article at: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/ff955768.aspx.

This entry was posted in Software Test Automation. Bookmark the permalink.