Retrieving Multiple Records from SQL Server using WCF and Silverlight

Consider the following very specific scenario. You have a SQL Server 2008 database and want to retrieve multiple data records from the database using WCF 4 hosted in IIS and display the results in a Silverlight 4 application hosted in a Web page. And you are using Visual Studio 2010 with C# and .NET Framework 4. Let me walk through one way to do this. If you look at the image below you can see the goal where I request employee ID, last name, and age of employees who are older than 25:

First I use SQL Server 2008 to create a dummy database named dbEmployees with a single table named tblEmployees and add four records:

use master
go

if exists(select * from sys.sysdatabases where name=’dbEmployees’)
drop database dbEmployees
go

create database dbEmployees
go

use dbEmployees
go

create table tblEmployees
(
empid char(3) primary key,
lastName varchar(12) not null,
age int
)
go

insert into tblEmployees values (‘111’, ‘Adams’, 19)
insert into tblEmployees values (‘222’, ‘Baker’, 29)
insert into tblEmployees values (‘333’, ‘Chung’, 39)
insert into tblEmployees values (‘444’, ‘Dunne’, 49)
go

Next I create a WCF service to expose the data. I launch an instance of Visual Studio 2010 as an administrator. I go File New Web Site. I select the WCF Service template, location type HTTP, and location http://localhost/WCFServicesRoot/DbEmployeesService. In file Service.cs I add “using System.Data.SqlClient;” and define a method that will retrieve the data for all employees whose age is greater than some age:

public string GetEmployees(int age) // info of all emps whose age >= age
{
  try
  {
    string connString = “Server=vte;Database=dbEmployees;Trusted_Connection=True”;
    SqlConnection sc = new SqlConnection(connString);
    SqlCommand cmd = new SqlCommand(“SELECT empid, lastName, age FROM tblEmployees
      WHERE age > ” + age.ToString(), sc);
    sc.Open();
    SqlDataReader sdr = null;
    sdr = cmd.ExecuteReader();
    string s = “”;
    while (sdr.Read() == true)
      s += sdr[0] + “:” + sdr[1] + “:” + sdr[2] + “&”;
    sc.Close();
    return s;
  }
  catch (Exception ex)
  {
    return ex.Message;
  }
}

In file IService.cs, inside the [ServiceContract] block I define the retrieval method’s interface:

[OperationContract]
string GetEmployees(int age);

Now I can build the WCF service and it will be hosted inside IIS. Now I have to give WCF access permissions to the dbEmployees database. In SQL Server Management Studio, I go to the Security Logins area and double-click on the NT AUTHORITY\NETWORK SERVICE object. In the resulting Login Properties dialog I select the User Mapping tab then check dbEmployees to select it, and then at the bottom I check db_datareader and db_datawriter.

Next I hit the F5 key in Visual Studio. I get a Web page with information about the WCF service including its location:

http://localhost/WCFServicesRoot/DbEmployeesService/Service.svc
The next step is to create a Silverlight application that accesses the SQL data by using WCF. I launch a new instance of Visual Studio 2010 as an administrator. I go File New Project. Then I select a C# Silverlight application from the template list, give it Name UseDbEmpoyeesService at some convenient Location like C:\SilverlightProjects. I accept the defaults on the New Application dialog: Host the Silverlight application in a new Web site (yes) and Enable WCF RIA Services (no).

In file MainPage.xaml I add a Label control, TextBox control, Button control, and a ListBox control. In the XAML code I change the Grid background color to Wheat so I’ll be able to see where the Silverlight control is later on the host Web page.

Now I tell the Silverlight application about the WCF service. In Solution Explorer I right-click on the UseDbEmployeesService entry and select Add Service Reference from the context menu. In the dialog box I copy paste the location of the WCF service and click on Go. The dialog will list the Service. I like to rename the Namespace: from the default ServiceRefrence1 to DbEmployeesServiceRef. Adding the Service Reference adds all the WCF plumbing behind the scenes.

I double-click on the Button control to generate its event handler and the I add code:

private void button1_Click(object sender, RoutedEventArgs e)
{
  DbEmployeesServiceRef.ServiceClient sc =
    new DbEmployeesServiceRef.ServiceClient();
  sc.GetEmployeesCompleted += new EventHandler<
    DbEmployeesServiceRef.GetEmployeesCompletedEventArgs >(AddTheData);
  sc.GetEmployeesAsync(int.Parse(textBox1.Text.Trim()));
}

private void AddTheData(object sender,
  DbEmployeesServiceRef.GetEmployeesCompletedEventArgs ea)
{
  string result = ea.Result;
  string[] tokens = result.Split(‘&’);
  for (int i = 0; i < tokens.Length; ++i)
  {
    listBox1.Items.Add(tokens[i]);
    listBox1.Items.Add(“”);
  }
}

Now I am good to go. I hit F5 to start the Silverlight application hosted inside a test Web page, enter an age in the TextBox, click the Button, and wait for the Silverlight app to send a request to the WCF service to get the data for employees who are older than the supplied age, and place that data into the ListBox.

There are a milion details I haven’t covered. Because my SQL Server, WCF Server, and Silverlight app are all on the same machine I don’t have to worry about cross domain security files ClientAccessPolicy.xml and CrossDomain.xml. If my result set from SQL is huge I might want to consider binary encoding with the GZipStream classto reduce the size.

This entry was posted in Software Test Automation. Bookmark the permalink.