Microsoft 2014 Build Conference – Day 0

The 2014 Microsoft Build Conference officially starts tomorrow, Wednesday, April 2, 2014, but registration started today at 3:00. The event is in San Francisco this year (as it was in 2013). I’m guessing the event has a total of maybe 8,000 people (attendees, speakers, staff, and vendors) so it’s a pretty big conference as far as software conferences go. This afternoon, there are hundreds of people setting the conference up:


I will be giving a talk on neural networks on Friday morning. This means I’ll be able to sit in on several talks on Wednesday and Thursday. On each day of the conference, there are four time slots, for example, on Tuesday the slots are at 1:00-2:00, 2:00-3:30, 4:00-5:00, and 5:30-6:30. In each time slot there are 10-12 different talks, so . . . doing the math. . . there are a total of about 130 talks.

The registration area is huge, to accommodate the thousands of attendees:


There are, naturally, quite a few talks about Web-related and Cloud-related technologies. I want to hear about TypeScript, mostly because I’m skeptical about it, and Azure, mostly because I’m frustrated by it.

The weather here in San Francisco is rainy and dark. Not unexpected, but it makes it annoying to walk the 1 mile from my hotel (Hilton) to the Moscone Convention Center. San Francisco has pros and cons compared to my favorite place to attend conferences, Las Vegas. Las Vegas has a lot more distractions, which is both a pro and a con I think. San Francisco seems a bit grittier than I remember but that could well be my imagination.

This entry was posted in Conferences, Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.