The 2015 Interop Conference in Las Vegas

The Interop conference is one of the largest IT conferences in the world. I’ll be speaking at the 2015 event, April 27 through May 1, in Las Vegas. If you are an IT person you should consider trying to get your organization to send you. See Use the code SPEAKERVIP and you can get 25% off the regular price. That’s a huge discount.

The Interop conference has been running since 1988. That’s an incredibly long time for a technology conference, which tells me Interop is doing something right. This year, I bet there’ll be well over 10,000 attendees, and well over 170 exhibitor companies.


My talk is titled, “Solving Business Problems with Neural Networks”. I’ll describe what neural networks are, the kinds of problems they can solve, and discuss some practical aspects of how companies can actually use neural networks.

I am primarily a software researcher and developer so the IT world is slightly out of my area. But I often speak at Microsoft IT events like the Microsoft Management Summit (MMS) and TechEd. Both of these conferences, and a few others, have been combined into the new Microsoft Ignite conference.


IT conferences like Interop have a very different feel to them than conferences intended more for software developers (such as Visual Studio Live and DevIntersection). It’s hard for me to articulate the difference but IT events tend to be more serious, in a funny kind of way. I think this is related to the notion that IT guys tend to have a defensive mindset (“we must protect the network!”) but developers tend to have a creative streak (“let’s make a cool application!”).

On the other hand, the Expos at IT events are always a lot more fun than those at developer conferences.

Interop will be at the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas — one of my favorite places for conferences. If you go to the 2015 Interop conference, be sure to seek me out and say hello. Interop 2015 – Highly recommended!

This entry was posted in Conferences. Bookmark the permalink.