By Grabthar’s Hammer, What a Savings!

A few days ago I was walking through my local grocery store, Fred Meyer. I’m a math guy so whenever I see numbers, I read them. Anyway, I saw the best sale sign ever. The numbers on the photo below pretty much say it all.


The sign reads, “SALE $10.99” in very large lettering, then in very small letters “Regular $10.99 Save 0 cents”.

I’m hoping Fred Meyer will perhaps follow up with a “Buy One, Get None Free” sale.


The sign reminded me of my all-time favorite quote from a science fiction movie. In the comedy movie Galaxy Quest, Dr. Lazarus is the Spock-like character played by Alan Rickman who is reduced to appearances at fan conventions and doing third tier TV commercials. Lazarus’ catch-phrase was, “By Grabthar’s Hammer, you shall be avenged!” but he makes an appearance at a tech store grand opening and his line is, “By Grabthar’s Hammer, what a savings.”


This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.