A Quick Look at the Leaflet.js Web Page Mapping Library

Every now and then I work with geolocation data, or to put it more simply, maps. The Internet has completely revolutionized how to display maps. I’ve used Google Maps technology, and I’ve used Microsoft’s Bing Maps technology. Both are pretty good, but fairly complicated.


I recently took a look at an open source JavaScript mapping library called Leaflet. See http://www.leafletjs.com. I really like the library. It’s relatively small in size and is well-documented, which means it’s relatively easy to understand and learn. The library is deliberately kept small but allows contributors to create all kinds of very nice plug-ins that have specialized functionality.


Bottom line: the next time I need to work with geolocation data, I’ll probably use Leaflet.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.