The Ada Programming Language

There are literally hundreds of different programming languages. But most software systems are written using a handful languages including Java, C#, Python, JavaScript, PHP, and so on.

The Ada language has been around since the early 1990s. It was developed at the request of the U.S. Department of Defense for use in system where, if something went wrong, very bad things could happen. Think weapons systems, aircraft systems, and medical systems.


During my college professor days, I taught a lot of Ada classes because there was a large military presence in Hawaii, where I was at.

I hadn’t looked at Ada in a long time so I thought I’d crank up a Hello World program. A Search of the Internet took me to a very nice, free, Ada IDE and compiler called GNAT (the acronym sort of stands for GNU Ada) at The installation was quick and easy.


I coded up a short program, and after about 15 minutes of futzing about, got my demo to compile to an executable.

Even my very short demo reminded me quickly that Ada is very, very wordy. But that’s by design because the language is intended to be as safe as possible. My demo also reminded me that Ada has similarities to the old Pascal language, which I thought was an excellent language for its time in the 1980s.

The moral: It was kind of fun to revisit Ada but I doubt that I’ll ever use the language seriously anymore.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.