The 2016 Interop Conference Expo

I attended and spoke at the 2016 Interop Conference, May 2-6, in Las Vegas. The event is billed as the largest computer IT and networking conference in the world. It is a big conference; I estimate there were about 3,000 – 5,000 total attendees.


A big part of Interop is the large Expo. There were about 200 companies represented, with everything from the big guys like Cisco, Dell, and IBM, to small startup companies. Products and services included just about everything you can imagine that’s related to computer networks.


There was a lot of energy at the Expo and I loved looking at the booths – it gives me a good feel for what’s new in the field, and often gives me useful ideas I can bring back to my work.


Based on my observations at Interop 2016, I concluded that 1.) the single biggest topic in IT is security, 2.) there’s a lot of consolidation in the IT industry, but, 3.) there’s still room for small, niche companies to be successful.

This entry was posted in Conferences. Bookmark the permalink.