Bing Maps 8 Clustered Pushpins

I’ve been looking at the new Bing Maps 8 library. One of the cool new features is pushpin clustering when dealing with large numbers of pushpins.

The idea is best explained visually. Here I create a map with 6,000 randomly located pushpins. If each pushpin was displayed individually, the map would essentially be completely covered. Instead I use clustered pushpins.


A red circle indicates there are 100 or more pushpins located in the grid-area. A yellow circle means 10-99 pushpins.

Next, I zoom in a couple of levels. The clustering visualization changes automatically.



You can now see individual pushpins as red dots, and a bit of clustering where green means 1-10 pushpins. And if I would zoom out, the pushpins would be clustered into fewer and fewer clusters until there’d be only one big red dot with all 6,000 pushpins. Very neat.


This entry was posted in Machine Learning, Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.