Using the gcc Compiler on Windows

This morning I was thinking about the C language and realized I hadn’t written a C program in a long time. I decided I’d create a C program on Windows using the gcc compiler rather than the usual Visual Studio (which can be massive overkill).

First I had to figure out where to get a gcc compiler for Windows. After scanning the Internet I picked the MinGW software package. Installing involved first installing an Installation Manager, and then using it to install gcc.


The gcc compiler ended up at C:\MinGW\bin so I added that path to my system PATH environment variable. Next I used the Notepad++ program to create a tiny test.c file. And then I used the gcc compiler to create the test.exe file. Everything worked as expected.


This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.