A Neural Network in Python

I’ve been looking at creating neural networks using the Microsoft CNTK tool. CNTK is complicated. Very complicated, and a bit rough around the edges because it was developed as an internal tool rather than for public use.

In order to understand the architecture of CNTK I wanted to experiment with different input values, weight values, and bias values. So I decided to dust off an old Python implementation of a neural net, and refactor it from Python 2 to Python 3.

The refactoring was much easier than I thought — mostly changing V2 print statements to V3 print functions. Luckily I used V2 range() instead of xrange() so I didn’t have to worry about that.

NeuralNetWithPythonDemo

Another reason I used Python to explore CNTK is that Python seems to be the utility language of choice for CNTK systems. For example, one of the tools that comes with CNTK is a Python script that downloads and formats the MNIST image recognition data set.

I don’t use Python all that often, but when I do use the language I like it. Python hits a sweet spot between simplicity and complexity.

My demo uses fake data that mirrors the famous Iris data set. Good fun.

NeuralNetWithPythonCODE

This entry was posted in Machine Learning. Bookmark the permalink.