Create Interactive Geo-Applications using Bing Maps 8

I wrote an article titled “Create Interactive Geo-Applications using Bing Maps 8” in the October 2016 issue of Microsoft MSDN Magazine. See

Bing Maps v8 is a relatively new (July 2016) JavaScript library that allows Web developers to add maps to a Web page. Bing Maps v8 has a ton of new features compared to Bing Maps v7 (hard to quantify exactly, but I’d estimate roughly 35 significant improvements) which was released in 2010.

In my article, I focus on two categories of Bing Maps 8 features that I think are particularly impressive and useful. The first category includes features that allow user interaction These include a Drawing Control that enables users to draw shapes which can be programmatically manipulated, and an improved event model that permits developers to sense exactly what a user is doing with a Map object.


The second category of new features I look at are those that allow Web developers to work with large amounts of data. In particular, Bing Maps 8 has a nice Heat Map module to display a large number of data points as color gradients, and a Clustering module that automatically groups and ungroups data points as a user zooms in and out.



I’ve worked with two of the main competitors to Bing Maps 8, Google Maps library and the open source Leaflet.js library. I think all three are roughly equal in terms of capabilities, but I now have a slight preference for Bing Maps v8 because it has a “nice feel” to it — which I know is subjective, but a software library’s “feel” is very important to me.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.