The Math and Zen of Frozen Burritos

Like many of my geek colleagues, I’m not much of a fancy food guy. I was shopping for some frozen burritos (pretty much haute cuisine for me) and was fascinated by the packaging.

The first thing I always check when I’m buying food is the microwave time. No microwave instructions, no sale. Sure enough, boldly displayed on the front of the package was “Microwave Ready in 1:45”.

frozenburritoa

But I love to read. Anything. Even frozen burrito packaging. So I flipped the package over and saw “Cooking instructions: 1 minute 15 seconds.” Hmm. A paradox. Had I somehow slipped to a parallel dimension in the Multiverse?

frozenburritob

No. I flipped back to the front and it still read “1:45” so I was still in my multiverse. OK. So I checked out some of the other math on the package. “America’s #1 Frozen Burritos” with an asterisk. After some hunting I found the source of this claim: Frozen Burritos $ Volume, 26 weeks ending Sept. 6, 2014. OK, I believe them.

Next: “Good source of protein”. Perhaps, but the ingredients also list Microcrystalline Cellulose, Sodium Metabisulfite, L-Cysteine, and Dicalcium Phosphate. Yummy!

Also: when cooking, “product temperature must reach 161o F.” Hmm, 161 degrees, not 160 degrees or 165 degrees. OK. I love precision.

Well, there was lots more and reading the frozen burrito wrapper kept me chuckling to myself for a good 10 minutes in the frozen foods aisle (and almost certainly scaring everyone away from that aisle while I was there).

I wonder if any of the other selfs in the other multiverses read frozen burrito wrappers today?

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Math and Zen of Frozen Burritos

  1. Greg Russell says:

    Perhaps the 30 second difference is the time taken by the average consumer to compare the photograph on the packaging with the horrible reality festering in the microwave.

Comments are closed.