The Mysterious Mai Tai

I’m not really sure where I picked up my fondness for Mai Tai cocktails and Tiki Culture in general. But I really do enjoy a Mai Tai every now and then.

The weird thing about ordering a Mai Tai is that no two are ever the same. Wikipedia describes how two different people, Vic of Trader Vic’s and Don of Don the Beachcomber, claim to have invented the (two completely different) Mai Tai recipe in the 1930s or 1940s. And I’ve had literally dozens of very different variations of the drink.

Anyway, Mike and Nikki, the bartenders at a local watering hole, make what I consider to be a really good Mai Tai. They use the items in the picture below, which include orange juice, pineapple juice, something red, two kinds of rum, and some kind of liquor that I don’t really know what it is.

Mai_Tai_Ingredients

nikki

As an aside, probably my favorite tiki culture movie is “Blue Hawaii” (1961). I’m not much of an Elvis Presley fan, but this movie is good fun. And, by coincidence, when I worked at Disneyland, I spent quite a bit of time at the Enchanted Tiki Room. (And I had a big crush on Nina L who worked at the Tahitian Terrace restaurant right next to the Tiki Room).

Mai_Tai_Result

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Mysterious Mai Tai

  1. Travis Illig says:

    The other liquor is amaretto, which has an almond flavor.

Leave a Reply

