Installing MySQL on Windows 10

One of my work machines running Windows 10 is relatively new (I imaged it a few weeks ago). I’m slowly putting software onto the machine.

Today I installed the MySQL database. The bottom line: the installation program is relatively quick and easy if you understand SQL database basics.

I originally intended to do a step by step explanation of the installation process, but the MySQL installation wizard program has about 20 steps. So, instead I’m just showing screenshots from most of the install screens (below). If you click on an image it will enlarge so you can see the details. They go left-to-right, and top-to-bottom.

I used to use MySQL a lot but for the past couple of years I’ve been using the MariaDB database. I don’t know all the details, but I believe MySQL was originally an open source system, and that there’s been several legal issues. Oracle acquired MySQL in 2009, which angered many people. I’m not a fan of Oracle myself.

One of the originators of MySQL created MariaDB, which, according to what I read, is superior in many ways to MySQL. But I don’t understand who, if anyone, owns MariaDB. Anyway, the point is, for just experimenting I think both MySQL and MariaDB are OK.


01_to_04


05_to_08


09_to_12


13_to_16


17_to_19


This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.