The MySQL Workbench Program

Several years ago I was a regular user of the MySQL open source database system. It was relatively simple (at least compared to the beast systems from Microsoft and Oracle) and was well suited for lightweight database needs. Although MySQL had several GUI interfaces, in the old days I used a command line interface in a shell.

After a couple of years of not using MySQL, I recently installed it. The installation process included a GUI interface called the MySQL Workbench.

The Workbench program is very nice. One of my criteria for “niceness” for a new program is how much I can get accomplished without reading documentation. The bottom line is I was able to use the Workbench immediately and had no trouble doing a simple Hello World kind of demo.

mysqlworkbench

As I mentioned in a previous blog post, there seems to be some sort of backlash against MySQL after its acquisition by Oracle in late 2009. I’m not really sure what that’s all about — it could be legal, or technical, or a matter of principle. But the MariaDB system, which was developed by the original creators of MySQL and is fully compatible with MySQL, seems to have a lot of momentum at the expense of MySQL.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.